Roasted acorn squash with chile vinaigrette

8 Sep

In my CSA box this week were two beautiful acorn squash.  Problem is, I don’t really know what to do with acorn squashes, aside from stuffing them.  I did a little searching online and found this amazing recipe from Gourmet magazine for roasted acorn squash in a chile lime vinaigrette.  It’s SO GOOD, guys.  I’m not even the biggest fan of winter squash and I couldn’t get enough of this stuff.  It’s super simple to make and is full of really great flavors, especially if you’re a cilantro lover!
image

 

In the comments people said that they wished they’d made more sauce, so I took that into account and did about 5x for the sauce.  I added a little less oil and made it quite a bit spicier than called for.  I also just did everything in the food processor.  I couldn’t find my gloves and definitely didn’t want to cut all those chiles with bare hands, plus I didn’t feel like mashing garlic.  At the end I threw in most of a bunch of cilantro and just pulsed everything till it was sufficiently chopped up.  That’s how a lazy person does sauce!  I also let the sauce sit for about an hour.  Initially I could really taste the olive oil and that kind of turned me off but after some time all the flavors came together amazingly well.

My modifications:
-7 cloves garlic
-10 Thai chiles
-1/2 tsp salt
-1/2 cup lime juice
-1 cup olive oil
-3/4 bunch cilantro

image

 

I served the squash over brown rice with steamed broccolini (more CSA stuff!) on the side.  Caramelized squash, tart and bright sauce, perfect for the end of summer!  This is definitely going into regular rotation in our house.  I’d say it’s even fast enough for a quick weeknight dinner.  The squash only takes 30 minutes to roast and the sauce can be made in about 10 min.

Leave a Reply

