MoFo #17: Acorn squash, pear, and adzuki soup with sauteed shiitakes

17 Oct

2012 banner

Whew, another long recipe title from Veganomicon! When I told Mr. Chickpea I was making this soup for dinner, he was…skeptical. He did not think the ingredients would go together *at all* and I just kept repeating “but, but, but Isa & Terry said this is a ‘precious jewel of a soup!’ Precious jewel, I must MAKE THE PRECIOUS!!!” Plus, I needed an excuse to test out my b-day present from Mr. Chickpea, a Vitamix! Wheeeeee! I foresee a long beautiful friendship between me and this blender.

IMG_2147

I do admit, it’s a weird combination of ingredients — onion, red bell pepper, ginger, Chinese five spice, pears, acorn squash, beans, and mushrooms. But I figured, Isa & Terry have never steered me wrong before, I’ve got the faith! Big surprise, it all came together really well to give a warm, comforting soup. The soup itself is slightly sweet, with a creamy broth and chunks of onion, squash, and pear, and beans mixed in. I really enjoyed the mix of textures. The mushrooms added a great savory flavor, but I have a weird texture issue with them so I think next time I might make really thin slices instead of just cutting them in half. Also, I don’t really think you need the adzukis — any mild bean would do well. One small can of the things cost me $2.65!!! Oh, the sacrifices I make for MoFo…

IMG_2149

5 Responses to “MoFo #17: Acorn squash, pear, and adzuki soup with sauteed shiitakes”

  1. ameyfm October 18, 2012 at 12:28 am #

    I bought some expensive beans today for mofo too! So, did Mr. Hot Vegan Chickpeas like it in the end? Happy Vitamix Day to you!!! Vitamix for President!!!!

    • Autumn October 19, 2012 at 1:03 am #

      I don’t know yet! He’s been working late all week so he’s been grabbing dinner at school. I will try to push some leftovers on him tonight! 🙂

  2. Carrie October 18, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    A VITAMIX!!!!! best birthday gift ever!!

  3. Joey October 18, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    X2 on the best birthday present ever! I could see why there might be some skepticism on this one, but glad to hear it all turned out right! Salute to the Veganomicon!

  4. Maggie Muggins October 19, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    That’s one sweet birthday gift!! It sounds like an interesting soup, it looks really pretty too.

Leave a Reply

