MoFo #16: Portobello salad with spicy mustard dressing

17 Oct

2012 banner

Well, the inevitable has happened: I’ve falled behind on my MoFo posts!!! Yesterday was supposed to be my salad day and even though I made the dish, I was too tired to write and upload photos. So here it is, to be followed in rapid succession by tonight’s soup post!

I guess this salad from Veganomicon isn’t necessarily a fall food, but it does have warm roasted mushrooms and a mustard maple dressing, which seems like a perfect cool weather salad. You start off by marinating some portobello caps, then roasting them in the oven for 30 min. Usually I just marinate my veggies (including mushrooms) in olive oil, red wine vinegar, and Italian seasoning, but I might switch to this recipe — a mix of wine, olive oil, soy sauce, balsamic vinegar, and garlic. Pretty simple, but the wine really made it delicious!! I used some old chardonnay that’s been sitting in the fridge for a few months and it came out really well.

IMG_2127

The rest of the salad is pretty easy — greens, red onion, avocado, and chickpeas. The dressing is like a honey dijon, but the sweetener is maple syrup.

IMG_2143

We were both really impressed by this simple salad. The flavors just melded together really well and we were too stuffed to eat the rest of our dinner. Definitely a keeper!

4 Responses to “MoFo #16: Portobello salad with spicy mustard dressing”

  1. ameyfm October 18, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    ha ha, I always have half-open bottles of white wine open in the fridge forever. 🙂 I”m not really that into mushrooms… but I’m glad it was a hit for you two!

    • Autumn October 19, 2012 at 1:04 am #

      Yeah, I definitely had a big problem with the mushrooms. You cook them separate from the soup, so I think next time I would just skip them!

  2. Carrie October 18, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I love that salad!

  3. Candy Beans October 19, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Wow, these look amazing!

Leave a Reply

