MoFo #15: Sweet potato baked oatmeal

15 Oct

2012 banner

I’m constantly amazed by the recipe ideas I find online and the fact that I’m the millionth person to think of them (and also that so many recipes are vegan without me including “vegan” in my search term.  Yay vegan bloggers!)!  I had a sweet potato, bananas, and oatmeal at home and thought I would make some kind of healthy baked oatmeal casserole to incorporate them all.  Well, googling that will bring up a ton of hits and I decided to try this one from Oh She Glows.

IMG_2116

I pureed the sweet potato and banana so that the filling (which includes oats, chia seeds, soy milk, maple syrup, and spices) would be nice and creamy.  It’s topped with a pecan crumble that is absolutely delicious.  I thought it was a perfect fall breakfast treat; Mr. Chickpea thought the filling should be sweeter (more like a dessert!) and thought nuts mixed in to the filling would be really good.

IMG_2119

3 Responses to “MoFo #15: Sweet potato baked oatmeal”

  1. Maggie Muggins October 15, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    I was just thinking of doing the same thing with some butternut squash I found in the freezer….now all I can think of is sweet potatoes.

  2. ameyfm October 15, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    wow – I would totally love that. It sounds sooooo good. Recipe bookmarked! 🙂

  3. Carrie October 16, 2012 at 5:56 am #

    that looks sooooo good!

Leave a Reply

