MoFo #11: Main dish — pumpkin chili

11 Oct

2012 banner

This isn’t as exciting as it sounds, sorry to say! I was inspired by a chili I was served once at a dinner party, which contained sweet potatoes, and I figured, why not kabocha? It’s got a velvety texture that would go really well in chili.

I pretty much just used my go-to chili recipe and threw in some cubed up kabocha. It’s actually really good and the pumpkin broke down and made the broth much thicker than usual. You can’t really taste the pumpkin, but I really liked biting down into those little cubes. So satisfying.

IMG_2078

While I was at the store I saw brussels sprouts and thought, hey, that will go with chili right? I really wanted to roast some sprouts. So I did! They’re just tossed in some olive oil, salt, pepper, and a drizzle of maple syrup. Yum!

IMG_2077

Should I include my chili recipe here? It’s not really anything special and I usually adjust spices as I go, so I don’t have all the measurements right. Eh, I’ll just write it down. Do with it what you will!

-1 yellow onion, chopped
-1 green bell pepper, chopped
-3 Tbs chopped garlic
-28-oz cans pinto beans
-28-oz cans black beans
-28-oz cans kidney beans
-28-oz can diced tomatoes
-2 cups water (I usually just eyeball the water…so you may need >2 cups)
-1 cup TVP granules (optional)
-1 cup sweet white corn
-3 Tbs chili powder
-2 tsp cumin powder
-salt, to taste

Saute onion and bell pepper with some salt until softened. Add garlic, stir a few min. Add beans, tomatoes, water, spices, TVP, simmer 15 min. Add corn, simmer 15 min. Adjust spices as desired. If you like sweeter broth (I do), you can add a little sugar, maple syrup, or agave nectar to taste. If you want to try adding some pumpkin, I used about 1/2 a kabocha squash and let it simmer in the chili, covered, until tender.

5 Responses to “MoFo #11: Main dish — pumpkin chili”

  1. Fanny October 12, 2012 at 5:52 am #

    Look at those pretty brussel sprouts…

  2. Carrie October 12, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    I LOVE kabocha!

    Have you tried the chili recipe in AFR with brussel sprouts? I had my doubts, but it was actually really, really good!

    • Autumn October 12, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

      no! I didn’t even notice that recipe. That sounds weird, but good!

  3. Joey October 13, 2012 at 12:22 am #

    I can’t get enough of baked brussel sprouts. Or indeed brussel sprouts in any other way you fancy cooking them. dribble…

  4. ameyfm October 13, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Yeah, kabocha is my all-time favorite squash! I really love it in squash. Also, I agree with Carrie – check out that chili with brussel sprouts from AFR. It is crazy yum yums.

Leave a Reply

