MoFo #10: Creamy chard soup

10 Oct

2012 banner

I’m always looking for ways to incorporate more greens into our meals, so how stoked was I when I found this super easy recipe in The Inspired Vegan, by Bryant Terry. If you like to read cookbooks for fun, this one and Terry’s other book, Vegan Soul Kitchen, are great and the recipes really deliver! They don’t have the types of classic dishes you’d expect when you think of soul food, but feature a lot of the same ingredients, incorporated into dishes that mix soul with African and Caribbean recipes to give something really unique, fresh, and healthy. Whenever I cook from these books I feel like we’re really in for a treat! And, there are lots of recipes suitable for fall cooking, so expect some to pop up in the next few weeks!

This soup recipe is really simple: onion, garlic, chard, cumin, salt, broth, and coconut milk. That’s it! You basically simmer the sauteed onions and garlic with the chard and broth, blend it up, add the coconut milk, and enjoy!

IMG_2059

I couldn’t really taste the cumin, but I could tell that it added a lot of depth. The combination of greens and coconut milk made the soup so incredibly rich and delicious! All these years of cooking, and I’ve never put greens (other than spinach), in soup. This has to change. Now!

IMG_2068

The only thing I would adjust is the amount of broth because the soup comes out awfully thin. I added some corn starch to thicken it up, but it would be better to just use less liquid. I didn’t make the topping (fried plantains) because I am lazy. Maybe I will do that for the leftovers!

3 Responses to “MoFo #10: Creamy chard soup”

  1. Carrie October 11, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    That looks delicious – and so healthy!

  2. crystal October 11, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    I have his book & love his recipes. This looks so good and satisfying.

  3. ameyfm October 13, 2012 at 10:18 pm #

    awesome! it’s funny because I ordered this book a while ago, but just tonight I actually opened it up and started reading it. I LOVE the whole intro, with the little mini-recipes, and where he’s talking about pantry staples and stuff. I marked down a few recipes to try out for mofo. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

