MoFo #8: Breakfast — Pumpkin pie smoothie

8 Oct

2012 banner

Happy week 2 of MoFo 2012! My trip to Farm Sanctuary was amazing, and I’ll talk more about it in my post this Sunday.

So, it’s back to breakfasts here on HVCP, and this week I was looking for a smoothie with lots of fall flavors. I started my smoothie obsession this summer when it was too hot for my normal tea and muffin. I’m not a big breakfast person so it’s been a real treat to mindlessly slurp down some liquid nutrition on my way into work! I wanted to try something pumpkin-y for today and there are tons and tons of recipes for pumpkin pie smoothies online, so clearly this is a genius idea! The recipe on Oh She Glows looked really good but I had forgotten to soak oats & chia the night before so I subbed in some soy yogurt but otherwise followed the recipe. The yogurt made it a bit more tart than I would like, so I want to try again with the oats, but overall it was really good! Lots of pumpkin goodness and super filling.

IMG_2054

What are your favorite fall smoothies? Next up on my list is something with ginger!

3 Responses to “MoFo #8: Breakfast — Pumpkin pie smoothie”

  1. iamAlex October 8, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

    I’m loving all the pumpkin smoothie recipes being posted too! I’ve made the one from Oh She Glows too and it was probably one of the better ones.

  2. Carrie October 9, 2012 at 5:27 am #

    Yum that sounds so delicious! And I can’t wait to hear all about Farm Sanctuary!!

  3. ameyfm October 13, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    I always just make fruit smoothies. I am scared of pumpkin smoothies. Also, it never occured to me to put oats in a smoothie! That’s a cool idea.

Leave a Reply

