MoFo #1 — Breakfast: Pumpkin Waffles

1 Oct

2012 banner

Happy MoFo 2012, everyone!

So to kick of the vegan month of food on this beautiful Monday, I bring you……pumpkin waffles from Vegan with a Vengeance.  I decided to try out this recipe on my brand spankin’ new waffle maker this weekend and let me tell you, this makes one mean belgian waffle!  It’s waffley perfection — crispy on the outside, moist and fluffy on the inside.  The smell of cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and nutmeg that wafted through my kitchen while these were cooking made me almost start eating the raw batter.  The recipe is supposed to make 12 belgian waffles (or 24 regular ones) but we only got about 6 out.  Maybe we like ours extra thick!  To me it seemed like 3/4 cup of batter cooked for 4 minutes made the perfect waffle.

IMG_1656

One thing I have started to do with a lot of my breakfast foods is sub white whole wheat flour for AP flour.  Normal whole wheat flour comes from red wheat, which contains tannins in the bran that can lend a bitterness to baked goods.  White whole wheat flour is milled from white, or albino, wheat, which lacks these tannins but has the same nutrient and fiber profile of hard red wheat.  The flour from WWW also tends to be lighter overall, so baked goods still are fluffy.  This is great news for muffin and pancake lovers like me!  I still prefer regular whole wheat flour in sandwich breads and rolls and I still use AP flour in desserts, but white whole wheat has become a welcome addition to breakfast foods.

What is your favorite fall breakfast?

5 Responses to “MoFo #1 — Breakfast: Pumpkin Waffles”

  1. Carrie October 1, 2012 at 4:18 am #

    Interesting! I didn’t know that about white whole wheat flour. I thought it was just AP flour with some fibre added back in or something. That waffle looks so delicious.

  2. Fanny October 1, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    That waffle looks great! I would love a waffle for breakfast everyday in some ways, but I’m more for savory breakfasts. Right now I usually eat a couple of potatoes baked in the microwave with some lingonberry jam and salt on top.

    • Autumn October 2, 2012 at 1:34 pm #

      I never thought of having a baked potato for breakfast, it sounds really good. I am also a fan of savory breakfasts!

  3. Beth October 2, 2012 at 4:34 am #

    White ww flour is great, isn’t it? I’ve fooled many an anti-ww flour person with that stuff, and I love getting them to eat some sneaky fiber! These pumpkin waffles look great! I think you ave convinced me that I need a waffle maker in my life.

  4. ameyfm October 13, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    whoa. I am totally behind on your awesome mofo blogging! prepare for multiple comments! I don’t think I’ve ever tried this recipe, but I have made the pumpkin waffles from Vegan Brunch which are dynomite! I’ve been seeing lots of waffles this mofo, and I am starting to really suffer from Waffle Withdrawl. In other news, I miss you!

Leave a Reply

