Best tofu scramble

9 Mar

I had the best tofu scramble on a recent road trip — everything was cubed, so it was more like a stir fry in my opinion, but it’s amazing regardless and I did my best to recreate it. Sweet and savory, it’s great with toast and hash browns or in a breakfast burrito. Here’s an approximation of the the recipe I follow, though you can adjust or change the spices.

20120309-142452.jpg

Recipe:
-2 boxes tofu, pressed and cubed into 1/2″ pieces
-2 orange yams, peeled and cubed into 1/2″ pieces (I show sweet potatoes in my pic but they weren’t sweet enough. I switched to yams, which tasted way better!)
-2 cups shiitake mushrooms, diced into 1/2″ pieces
-2 red bell peppers, diced
-2 cloves garlic, minced
-1 bunch scallions, chopped (green and white parts)
-1 tsp dried tarragon
-1 tsp turmeric powder
-1/2 tsp dried oregano
-1/2 tsp dried basil
-1 tsp salt, or to taste

Toss the yams in some olive oil and bake at 400 F until softened but still slightly firm. Set aside.

Toss the tofu in some soy sauce or teriyaki sauce (or no sauce, if yiu prefer) and bake at 400 F until firm and chewy.

Sauté red bell pepper and mushrooms in a pan with olive oil and a little salt, until softened. Add spices and garlic and sauté 1 min.

Add potatoes and tofu to pan, warming through. Add scallions and stir till softened. Season to taste. Serve and enjoy!

One Response to “Best tofu scramble”

  1. Maggie Muggins March 12, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Yum! I love adding potato to my scrambles. You’ve totally got me craving breakfast for dinner right now.

Leave a Reply

