MoFo #19: Tortellini soup

24 Oct

My mom used to buy a canned tortellini soup.  I thought it was the bees knees and had it almost every day for lunch.  I the tortellini had ground beef and some kind of cheese…the flavor wasn’t even that good but the texture was rich and velvety inside and biting into the little pastas was so much fun! The broth was tomato-y but didn’t have that many veggies.  I wanted to recreate that soup tonight and decided to make a tofu ricotta and TVP-stuffed tortellini soup. Here’s how it came out!

IMG_0680

While I was buying my tofu at the store I spotted Tofurkey Italian Sausage. I was already feeling too lazy to work out how to spice the TVP, so I just decided to spring for this stuff instead. It’s actually pretty tasty! I think it’s mainly tofu and seitan with spices so I didn’t feel like it was too processed. I made the tofu ricotta from Vegan with a Vengeance and mixed it up with the sausages, which I ground up in the food processor. IMG_0665 IMG_0664 IMG_0667
As I was preparing everything I started to saute the holy trinity of soups: onion, celery, and carrots.  I also added some zucchini.  Then I added broth, diced tomatoes, spinach, frozen corn, frozen peas and spices and let it all simmer while I made the tortellini.IMG_0669
Wrapping the tortellini was pretty easy, if a little time consuming.  The pasta dough recipe is from Vegan Dad’s site.  I had waaaaay more filling than I needed.  It might find its way into a lasagna this week.  There are a million videos on how to form tortellini…I’ve condensed it down to a few easy steps:

1) Roll out some of the dough till it’s pretty thin and cut it into 3″x3″ squares using a pizza cutter:
IMG_0670

2) Place about 1 tsp filling in the center:
IMG_0671

3) Fold dough in half over filling and press the pocket shut:
IMG_0672

4) Roll the bottom up.  Be careful at this step – if you fill the pocket too full and roll too much it can bust open:
IMG_0673

5) Place your finger in the middle and fold the corners over.  Pinch together.
IMG_0674

IMG_0675

One batch of pasta made about 50 large tortellini. Please excuse my ugly tray!
IMG_0676

When the soup was done I threw in all the tortellini and simmered it, covered, for about 10 min:
IMG_0678

It was delicious! Even better than the canned stuff.

Here’s a list of the ingredients:
-tofu ricotta, per VWAV
-4 ground Tofurkey sausages, or equivalent amount of spiced TVP
-1 batch pasta dough (see link above)
-1 onion, chopped
-3 stalks celery, diced
-2 large carrots, diced
-1 zucchini, diced
-1 large can (64 oz) can diced tomatoes, with juice
-6 cups water or broth
-1/2 cup (or 1 handful) frozen peas
-1 cup frozen chopped spinach
-1/2 cup (or about 1 handful) frozen white corn
-2-3 Tbs Italian seasoning
-salt, to taste

9 Responses to “MoFo #19: Tortellini soup”

  1. Jeni Treehugger October 24, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

    OH that looks AMAZING!!!
    I must make this, what a great hearty filling meal.
    <:-)

  2. vegansmarties October 25, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Looks so yummy! I am impressed you made your own tortellini. Thanks for posting pictures on how to fold them, that’s probably the step I would fail at the most.

  3. Sal October 25, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    This looks pretty freakin awesome. I love tortellini, I’ve never made my own pasta before, I really want to have a go.

  4. Sarah October 25, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    That soup look awesome!

  5. Carrie October 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    wow this looks so amazing!!!

  6. Micah Ludeke October 29, 2011 at 4:14 am #

    Holy buckets, I’m so impressed! Making tortellini always sounded so intense, but you made it look so easy! They look gorgeous; well done!

    • freakoftheweek October 29, 2011 at 11:37 pm #

      Thanks! They were definitely easier than I thought they’d be!

  7. jandrewowens November 17, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    Dear Lord! This is to die for delicious looking! I’m making it soon!!
    -Jagadeesh, Fellow PPKer

  8. Mo January 16, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I had no idea tortellini were so easy to make! This looks seriously delicious!

Leave a Reply

