MoFo #9: Best salad dressing on the planet

11 Oct

It’s true!  Everyone I know who tries this dressing falls in love with it.  My partner will now only eat salad if we have some of this stuff on hand.  I have been known to drink the extra dressing out of my salad bowl.  In fact, the only thing that challenges its place in my heart is the Sanctuary Dressing from Appetite for Reduction.  Am I creating too much hype here?

The recipe comes from a strange little book called The Guilt Free Gourmet.  I first came upon this book when I went vegan in 2003.  I had just gone vegan and didn’t really know what to cook (I had previously been a very dairy-dependent vegetarian).  At that time there were not a lot of vegan books available – I think How it All Vegan had just come out that summer – and I was a super poor college student so I couldn’t afford new books.  I had also just gotten my wisdom teeth removed and in my Vicodin-induced haze surfed eBay for super cheap vegan cookbooks.  I ended up buying Guilt Free Gourmet and The Uncheese Cookbook for $5 each.   I think all of my meals in 2003 came from these two books!

So I guess in part this post is a review of GFG.  Like I said, it’s an odd book with creepy illustrations and a bunch of religiously-influence lifestyle essays in the back.  If you ignore that bit, the recipes are actually quite good!  The authors eschew all processed foods and refined sugar, so you’ll find lots of recipes for DIY condiments, crackers, vegan dairy substitutes, and veggie burgers, along with lots of other wholesome dishes.

I don’t usually copy recipes from books.  I’ve been paying very close attention to the recipe etiquette thread on the PPK!!  Here’s  my logic in transcribing the recipe this time: this book is not very easy to find (it’s pretty expensive on Amazon!), you *can* find copies of this recipe elsewhere online, it’s not that original a recipe, and really, it’s too good not to share.

So here you go:

Tahini Tang Dressing

1/2 cup sesame tahini
1/2 cup water
1/4 cup lemon juice, or to taste
1 tsp salt
1-2 Tb honey (use agave nectar)
1 tsp garlic powder, or 1 clove fresh
1/2 tsp onion powder

-Blend until very creamy and smooth. Pour into a pint jar, cover, and chill.

I also use this dressing on sandwiches and as a veggie dip.  It will thicken over time, so you may need to add water to thin it out, which will dilute the flavor.

And just for kicks, here’s what I had for dinner tonight! Hm, I wonder what dressing that is….

One Response to “MoFo #9: Best salad dressing on the planet”

  1. Carrie October 11, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    what a neat looking cookbook! I love the super creepy illustrations!

Leave a Reply

