MoFo #8: vegan option at Chili’s?!

10 Oct

20111010-014546.jpg

Sorry for the lousy photo…it was really dark!

We received a Chili’s gift card last Christmas and finally finished it off. Sadly, Chili’s has never been very welcoming to vegans. Even their in house black bean burger patty has eggs and most salads are loaded with meat and dairy. Preparing for a night of mediocre salad, I was surprised to find a new item on the menu: veggie tacos!

I got them without the ranch dressing on top and asked for salsa on the side. The veggies inside included roasted mushrooms, squash, bell pepper, onions, and avocado. The tacos also came with black beans and a white rice pilaf. I tasted the pilaf and it was pretty meh and might have had butter. I couldn’t tell but I don’t ever eat the rice that comes with Mexican food so I wasn’t too torn up about it.

At $8.50, cheap for Chili’s, this was a decent dinner. I hope they keep it around and offer more vegan options in the future!

3 Responses to “MoFo #8: vegan option at Chili’s?!”

  1. sara October 10, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    This is good to know — my husband likes Chili’s, but we never go there due to their crappy veg options. They do have good chips and salsa.

  2. Carrie October 10, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    Cool! One time I was stuck at an airport and the only sit down restaurant option was Chili’s. I scoured the menu for something I could eat but realized there was NOTHING and left in a huff.

  3. Ivette October 27, 2014 at 2:12 pm #

    the management told me they put worcester sauce in the rice, not even vegetarian! this was after lots of waiters telling me there’s definitely no butter in it.

Leave a Reply

