MoFo #2: SF Veg Fest

3 Oct

The SF Veg Fest was this weekend!  The South Bay PPKrew carpooled up to SF to make a day-long vegan field trip out of it. It was a blast!

We skipped all the scheduled talks and went straight into the vendor fair. There were a few good food vendors, some book stands, and charitable organizations represented. I drooled over Vitamixes for a while as the demo guy pureed whole raw veggies into soup.

After cruising the vendor booths we grabbed a snack from Flacos. I’ve had their taquitos, horchata, and pozole at the Berkeley farmers’ market before so I tried out the banana leaf tamale this time. It had an unusual mix of olives, capers, and TVP and was drenched in a spicy green sauce. I guess I was too excited to grab a picture before I chowed down so you’ll have to believe me that it was yummy!

We got dessert at the Genuto stand where I had the best vegan ice cream (erm, I guess it’s gelato) of my life. It’s completely nut-based, which makes it rich and creamy! There were loads of flavors and I tried the pistachio, chocolate cardamom, and ginger. OMG I dreamed about the ginger gelato last night. I remembered to snap a picture at the very last minute right before it went my mah belleh.

Next we headed over to Rainbow Co-op Grocery, a completely vegetarian grocery store! We must have been in there close to 1.5 h! And that’s why it’s great to grocery shop with vegans 😀

I bought some berbere so I can start cooking Ethiopian food,

marveled over the aisle of bulk pasta bins (!),

was amazed by the bulk tubs of miso,

and drooled over the vegan baked goods (I limited myself to one vegan donut. It was painful!)

It was a good day!

We ended the day with a trip to Source, which I reviewed yesterday.

Thanks for reading! See ya tomorrow!

6 Responses to “MoFo #2: SF Veg Fest”

  1. Jackie Smith October 3, 2011 at 3:46 am #

    Hey, I bought my Vita from that guy! 🙂

    I think the cardamom gelato/ice cream sounds amazing! As does spending quality time with other vegans. Sounds like everyone had fun!

  2. Carrie October 3, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    What a fun day! Thanks again for being our heroic driver and for all of your help!

  3. cadryskitchen October 4, 2011 at 4:38 am #

    Bulk miso? How awesome is that! I always crave to try lots of different kinds of miso, but since organic miso is so expensive, I resist. (Tubs of it at my co-op are around eight and nine dollars.) It’s just too cost-prohibitive to have a variety of misos on hand. But if I had access to miso in bulk, it would be easy to try several kinds. It looks like you had a fun day!

  4. Niru October 4, 2011 at 6:31 am #

    Rainbow is so awesome, I’d love to go again some other time – preferably with a shopping list. I’ve been raving to all my friends about the vegan chai and the vegan ice cream!

  5. Caroline October 5, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    There’s a good vegan co-op in my city in the UK but sadly they won’t sell anything with sugar in it. I am jealous of those baked goods!

  6. Nicole October 6, 2011 at 7:40 pm #

    I almost forgot about the banana leaf tamales from Flacos, they are out of this world!

Leave a Reply

