Cookbook Challenge Week 1 – Isa & Terry

19 Sep

Over at the Post Punk Kitchen forum we are embarking on twelve weeks of vegan cooking, drawing from some of the most popular vegan cookbooks. This is a great way for me to get out of my cooking funk and try out new recipes from books I’ve owned for ages. I’m sure I’m like a lot of people, in that I buy a book, try out a few recipes, and then file it away. What a waste!! I’d love to eventually work through every cookbook I own (and sooner rather than later, so I can think of some great recipes to serve at our wedding reception in July).

This week’s challenge is to make recipes from books by Isa Moskowitz and Terry Romero.  I’ve recently discovered how amazing the salads are from Veganomicon and we just happen to be experiencing a nasty heat wave so it looks like this week I’ll be making salad!

I’m starting off with “Quinoa Salad with black beans and mango”. It’s a pretty easy recipe and calls for quinoa, black beans, mango, red bell pepper, cilantro, and scallions tossed in a little red wine vinegar and olive oil. I subbed cous cous since I was out of quinoa and it was super tasty!

Leave a Reply

