MoFo #7: Vegan Bake Sale

10 Oct

This weekend I helped out at a vegan bake sale we held to raise money for the Farm Sanctuary Walk for Farm Animals. Three other MoFo-ers, CarrieAmey, and coldandsleepy, also baked and organized. We had an awesome spread and raised over $600 for the cause! W00t!

new-image

I busted my butt in the kitchen Thursday and Friday baking into the wee hours of the morning. I had big plans but I didn’t get to make everything I wanted. Here are links to recipes of what I made (you can see pics in the photos below):

Roasted apple, butternut squash, and carmelized onion flatbread from Chef Chloe
Carrot Cake Cupcakes with cream cheese frosting from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World
Macadamia Ginger Drop Cookies from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar – I made a gluten free version of these too!
Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies – Just sub Ener-G egg replacer for the eggs!
Socca (chick pea flour flatbread) from xgfx.org
Matcha Green Tea Cake Pops

If anyone’s interested, I made my own gluten free flour mix thanks to the wonderful folks on the PPK message board.  The recipe is:
4 cups superfine brown rice flour (Authentic Foods)
1 1/3 cups potato starch
2/3 cup tapioca flour/starch

I couldn’t find superfine rice flour so I used regular brown rice flour from a bulk bin at Whole Foods.  Things came out a bit grainy but at least in the ginger cookies they tasted fine.  I had to add about 1.5 cups more flour to make the batter thick, and I had to roll the cookies into balls and cook them less time.

I topped the socca with pesto spread from Vegan with a Vengeance and sliced tomatoes from my garden, or home-made sun-dried tomato hummus.  I tried both thin and thick variants of the bread using either the Sil-Pat (thin) or spring form pan (thick) and thick was definitely the crowd favorite!

Here are some pics from the day!

IMG_0276

IMG_0278

IMG_0277

IMG_0282

IMG_0280

IMG_0281

IMG_0284

IMG_0292

IMG_0294

8 Responses to “MoFo #7: Vegan Bake Sale”

  1. Carrie October 10, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    I love the pic of the little piggies!

  2. omgoshimvegan October 10, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Congrats looks like it was a great bakesale with lots of goodies!

  3. coldandsleepy October 10, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    Those cake pops were totally delightful. We had to run some errands post bakesale and the Emperor fell asleep in the car clutching his cake pop to his chest.

  4. Jojo October 10, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Everything looks fantastic, what an awesome event.

  5. Niru October 11, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Everything looks lovely. I am thinking of all the care and effort that went into putting this together – hats off to you all. The little piggies are just too good. How did you guys think of that!!!

  6. Mo January 16, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

    What lovely pictures! The little pigs are adorable!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Walk for Farm Animals and veg tourism « Hot vegan chick…..peas! - November 6, 2011

    [...] while ago I posted about a vegan bake sale I participated in to raise funds for the SF Walk for Farm Animals, which benefits Farm Sanctuary. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

